Image
2

Intensive Training Say What?

DSCN4198 - Copy

Holy cow guys. Remember how I said this class is going to be intense? Boy, was I right! Tuesday was our first day of class, & I spent six hours reading afterwards. Wednesday I spent five hours reading. & Thursday I spent another six hours reading. I have yet to complete my reading for Friday’s class (which is how I’ll be spending my Sunday). The reason it’s so much is because it’s usually spread out over fifteen weeks whereas we’re compacting it into fifteen days. This means that what would normally take a week, we do in a day. Yeah, it’s that intense. Along with all these articles to read, we’re also doing what’s called an Inductive Bible Study over 1 Thessalonians which takes about two hours of work on your own each week. What makes all this work even more difficult for me is that I have this thing called FOMO (fear of missing out) so realizing I have to sit by myself for hours everyday reading instead of building relationships with all these wonderful people is quite difficult to accept.

Okay, I’m done complaining. Let’s focus on the positives.

I am learning soooo much! This class is stinkin’ awesome, which is an understatement, but I don’t even know how else to put it. Though the readings are long, they are jam-packed with some great stuff. I am surrounded by amazing, selfless people. I am in a beautiful city where the sun always shines. & every morning when I wake up & all I can think is that I’m too exhausted to get out of bed, Jesus gently reminds me that He is my strength & He will sustain me. I may be a little overwhelmed & slightly stressed out, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Life is good. Jesus is better.

Also, in case you’re wondering what else we’ve been up to, we had our first temple visit Friday evening. We went to a Mormon temple (see photo above) which was very interesting. I learned a lot, & it was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. If you’re interested about our visit or what I learned, I’d love to discuss it with you. Feel free to contact me via Facebook, email (taylor_4733@hotmail.com) or of course the next time you see me in person! But I would rather not discuss it on here. Today we went to Santa Monica Beach to do evangelism. Though I haven’t talked much to my teammates about their experiences yet, I do know there were some good conversations taking place. Tomorrow we will visit Saddleback Church in the morning & have free time afterwards for the rest of the day. Then it’s back to class on Monday!

Thank you all for caring about my life & the work that Jesus is doing — you all rock! Much love from Cali!

2 thoughts on “Intensive Training Say What?

Leave a Reply

